Logo of category

East Doc Platform


East Doc Platform Award

Institute of Documentary Film will announce the main EDP prize - East Doc Platform Award associated with the financial support of EUR 7 500 for the best project in development and in production. The granted financial support will help the filmmakers in further development of their documentary film.

The East Doc Platform Award jury is comprised of international film festival and sales representatives and includes Nicolas Feodoroff (FID Marseille France), Maëlle Guenegues (CAT and Docs France), Gitte Hansen (First Hand Films Switzerland), Anna Hoffmann (Berlinale Germany), Loïc Valceschini (Locarno's Critic's Week Switzerland), Agnés Wildenstein (Doc Lisboa Portugal).

Czech TV Postproduction Award

Markéta Štinglová, Manager of International Content Projects of public broadcaster Czech TV, the General Media Partner of the Institute of Documentary Film and the General Media Partner of KineDok project will announce the winner of the Czech TV Postproduction Award. The award is associated with postproduction services worth EUR 7 150 granted by Czech TV. The jury consists of the Czech TV representatives: Markéta Štinglová, Manager of International Content Projects, Petr Morávek, Chief Producer of Factual Programmes, Documentaries and Education, and Věra Krincvajová, Chief Editor of Documentaries, Film Center.

HBO Development Award

All eligible East Doc Platform projects from the HBO Europe countries of interest also compete for the HBO Development Award presented by Hanka Kastelicová, the Executive Producer of Documentaries HBO Europe.

The Golden Funnel Award

The award is granted to one of the projects that took part in the year-long Ex Oriente Film workshop and underwent the most significant development. The winning project is honored with EUR 1000. The granted financial support should help the filmmakers in further development and international promotion of their documentary film. The jury members are Ex Oriente Film workshop lead tutors Mikael Opstrup, Iikka Vehkalahti, Filip Remunda and Ivana Pauerová Miloševičová.

IDFA Forum Award

One project presented at the East European Forum/ East Doc Platform is annually selected by Yorinde Segal - IDFA Forum representative for a special award to encourage talented filmmakers and promising documentary projects. The award consists of a free IDFA Forum and IDFAcademy pass. IDFA also covers accommodation and travel costs for the project team to Amsterdam.

DocsBarcelona Award

In cooperation with the DocsBarcelona, one of the projects presented at the East European Forum is selected for the Speed Meetings at the 2017 DocsBarcelona. The meetings will be organized in advance depending on financers and projects preferences. The award enables the filmmakers to additionally present their project to the international decision makers and thus soon follow-up on and broaden the deals and cooperation initiated at East Doc Platform. The project will be selected by Mikael Opstrup (European Documentary Network).

DOK Leipzig Co-Production Meeting Award and DOK Preview Award

One project will be selected for fast-forward participation in the 13th DOK Co-Pro Market. The project will have the chance to present itself to around 70 decision makers in pre-scheduled individual meetings in October 2017. DOK Leipzig is looking also for one project for the DOK Preview presentation, highlighting the best late-stage projects from different training initiatives ready to hit the international market. Both prizes include free festival accreditation and three nights accommodation for the film team in order to attend DOK Leipzig. The award will be selected by Brigid O Shea, Head of DOK Industry.

id w / interactive documentary workshop Award

Thanks to the second year of cooperation between Doc Tank and interactive documentary workshop (CH), which offers exchange of knowledge and experience between transmedia professionals and workshop participants, the interactive documentary workshop Award will be given to the best Doc Tank project. The winning project will be invited to attend the next edition of the id workshop in Nyon (22-26 April 2017) and the project holder (or 1 team member) will be awarded with a full scholarship, covering tuition fees, subsistence and travel expenses.

Current Time TV Award

Daisy Sindelar, the Director and Kenan Aliyev, the Executive Editor of the Current Time TV will announce an Award of Eur 3 500, as a pre-buy for Current Time, a 24/7 independent Russian-language digital television screening most notable creative documentaries with its everyday documentary slots, two new films per week and 100 new titles per year. 

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more.