East Silver

Silver Eye Award

The Silver Eye Award 2023 for the best feature documentary will be announced at the Ceremony during Guest Meets Guest on March 28 during the East Doc Platform.

International Jury:
Nele Stoss - DOK.fest München
Stefanos Velmachos Bonos - Beyond Borders
Karol Piekarczyk - Millennium Docs Against Gravity

Nominated films:
A Year of Endless Days (orig. Godina prođe, dan nikako, dir. Renata Lučić, HR, 2022, 86')
Blix Not Bombs (dir. Greta Stocklassa, 2023, Czech Republic, Sweden, Germany, 85')
Cabin Pressure (orig. KABINNYOMÁS, dir. Eszter Nagy, Sara Cziradir, HU, 2022, 80') - in postproduction
Faces of Agata (orig. Twarze Agaty, dir. Malgorzata Kozera-Topińska, 2023, Poland, United Kingdom, 72')
Fight (dir. Lilit Movsisyan, 2023, Armenia, France, 71')
KIX (orig. 'Sanyiék', dir. Bálint Révész, Dávid Mikulán, 2023, Hungary, France, Croatia, 100') 
Our Daily Bread (orig. Pâinea noastră cea de toate zilele, dir. Serban Georgescu, 2023, Romania, 70')
Well of Dreams (dir. Paweł Tarasiewicz, 2023, Poland, 73')
We Will Not Fade Away (orig. Ми не згаснемо, dir. Alisa Kovalenko, 2023, Ukraine, France, Poland, USA, 99)
Who Am I Smiling For? (orig. Kellele ma naeratan, dir. Eeva Mägi, 2022, Estonia, 60')

The Silver Eye Award has been granted annually since 2009 to the best East and Central European documentary films. Since 2018 the award goes to the best short (up to 40 min) and feature documentary film (over 60 mins), selected from the nominated films, approx. 11 in each category. The aim of the award is to support directors with innovative approach, authors of films that create social impact, filmmakers, who has the courage to open discussion on serious topics, and creators offering unique point of view.

The final decisions are in the hands international juries of film industry professionals, who are picked up for their experience in documentary filmmaking.

Evaluation by the juries consisting of sales agents, distributors, alternative distribution channels, VoD and festival representatives brings a strategic advantage to all nominated films, gaining them an excellent opportunity to increase their chances of being distributed across various platforms. The winner in each category receives not only a unique award trophy, but also a prize money of 2 500 €, a year-long festival service of the East Silver Caravan worth of additional 3 500 €.

The nominated films are selected by the IDF committee based on the submissions to the East Silver.

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more.